Five Summaries of the Little Mermaid

Ever since my recent post on the possible discontinuation of Disney fairy tale movies, I have been wondering how much influence these films have had on the fairy tale genre.  In an attempt to figure out if people were more familiar with the original versions of fairy tales or their Disney counterparts, I interviewed five students at my university, and asked each of them to summarize the story of “The Little Mermaid.”

Although I expected more people to tell me about the happily ever after Disney version, I was surprised when three of the five students summarized the original Hans Christian Andersen story in which the mermaid dies.  Obviously, I did not have a large enough group of participants to draw conclusive evidence, but it is interesting to see that many people are actually familiar with the original versions of fairy tales despite their exposure to Disney retellings.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Fairy Tale Recipes: Little Mermaid Cupcakes « The Beanstalk

Leave a Reply

